Thank your for helping us to Improve your experience
Ease of use
Clarity of presentation
Technical performance
Find out more on
No records
UAE Pro League
news article image

UAE Pro League Awards adopts precise selection criteria

The UAE Pro League confirmed that precise criteria were adopted in selecting the nominees for the UAE Pro League Awards 2020-2021, as voting is scheduled to continue through different platforms until August 5 amid wide participation from fans, media, and club representatives


The nominees have been initially selected by global sports data company “OPTA”, the statistical partner of UAE Pro League, which put together the initial list based on the league’s statistics. Afterward, a committee that included the UAEPL technical committee and experts compiled the final list. The selection committee can overlook the criteria for no more than 20% of the total nominees in each category.


The UAEPL revealed that the nominees comprised Emirati players, foreign players, and goalkeepers who made 13 or more league appearances last season. Meanwhile, the coaches' list included those who collected 50% of the points in at least 10 games. The young players’ lists included players who took part in six or more league games and were born in 2000 or later.


Additional criteria:


The UAE Pro League technical committee has set additional voting criteria in case players were leveled on points; one point will be deducted for each yellow card, and two points will be deducted for each red card.

In case the coaches were tied on points in the Leader Award, the winner will be decided based on the number of wins. According to the rule, one point will be awarded for each game won with the coach at the helm, while a point will be deducted for each sanction or fine handed to the coach.


Voting mechanism:


The UAE Pro League invited everyone to cast their votes by selecting and ranking the top five nominees in each category, as points will be given for each nominee according to their ranking. By the end of the voting process, voting will be distributed as per the following percentages: 25% for coaches, 25% for teams' captains, 25% for media representatives, and 25% for fans.


Voting will be open on the UAEPL official website and mobile app. Moreover, voting will be open for the fans’ player of the year, the goal of the season, and the best online sports platform through the UAE Pro League official social media accounts on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and TikTok@AGLeague.




The Golden Ball for the best Emirati player will see competition between Abdullah Ramadan, Ali Mabkhout, Khalifa Al Hammadi (Al Jazira), Abdulaziz Haikal (Shabab Al Ahli), AbdulSalam Mohammed, Majid Rashid (Ittihad Kalba), Fabio Lima (Al Wasl), Suhail Al Noubi, Sultan Al Shamsi (Bani Yas), and Shaheen AbdulRahman (Sharjah).


For the Golden Ball handed to the best foreign player, the nominees are Thulani Serero, Milos Kosanovic (Al Jazira), Sasa Ivkovic, Nicolas Gimenez, Gaston Suarez, Joao Pedro (Bani Yas), Ryan Mendes, Toze (Al Nasr), Dodo (Khorfakkan), and Cartabia (Shabab Al Ahli).


Mahdi Ali (Shabab Al Ahli), Marcel Keizer (Al Jazira), Daniel Isaila(Bani Yas), Abdulaziz AlAnbari (Sharjah), and Jorge Da Silva (IttihadKalba) will be vying for the Leader award for the best coach.


The Golden Glove award for the best goalkeeper will see competition between Fahad Al Dhanhani (Bani Yas), Adel Al Hosani (Sharjah), Jamal Abdullah (Ittihad Kalba), Ali Khaseif (Al Jazira), and Majed Nasser (Shabab Al Ahli).


Meanwhile, the Golden Boy for the best young Emirati player nominees includes Majid Rashid (Ittihad Kalba), Ahmed AlHammadi(Al Dhafra), Hussain Mahdi (Al Nasr), Ali Saleh (Al Wasl), and Khalid Salem (Hatta).


As for the newly introduced Golden Boy award dedicated to the best young player (resident/born in UAE), the list includes Igor Jesus (Shabab Al Ahli), Lucas Pimenta (Al Wahda), Ahmed Abunamous(Bani Yas), Gláuber Lima (Al Nasr), Oumar Traore, Mohamed Rabii(Al Jazira), Luan Pereira (Sharjah), Braian Ramirez (Hatta), Moftau Owolabi, and Mohamed Mustafa (Fujairah).