Thank your for helping us to Improve your experience
Ease of use
Clarity of presentation
Technical performance
Find out more on
No records
UAE Pro League
news article image

UAE Pro League announces December Best Awards nominees

The UAE Pro League has announced the nominees for the Arabian Gulf League Best monthly awards, powered by Etisalat, the official sponsor of the Arabian Gulf League, in the Best Player, Best Goalkeeper and Best Coach categories for the month of December, which aligns with the UAEPL’s strategy of motivating outstanding players and improving fan interaction to further improve the competition.


The shortlist for December’s Best Player Award includes Sharjah’s Otabek Shukurov, Al Jazira’s Abdullah Ramadan, Ryan Mendes of Al Nasr, Khorfakkan’s Ramon Lopes and Al Wahda’s Paul-José M'Poku.


The players were nominated based on their performance and contribution with their teams in December. Shukurov helped leaders Sharjah retain first place through his strong performances in midfield, as he took part in all his team's matches in December and helped the King achieve 3 wins out of four matches during the last month. Meanwhile, Ramadan proved to be a key player within Al Jazira’s ranks, as he started all his side’s matches in the past month and helped the Pride of Abu Dhabi earn three consecutive victories in December. Ryan Mendes is also considered a key element at Al Nasr, as he took part in all matches and scored one goal during December. In turn, Ramon Lopes netted four goals with Khorfakkan, including a double in his side’s victory over Ajman. M'Poku booked his place in the list after his remarkable efforts with Al Wahda, which saw him score two goals in December.


Sharjah coach Abdulaziz Al Anberi is nominated for the Best Coach award for December along with Al Jazira’s Dutch coach Marcel Keizer and Bani Yas’ Romanian coach Daniel Isăilă.


Al Anberi succeeded in keeping Sharjah at the top of the standings in December after guiding the team to three victories and one loss against Bani Yas, who in turn managed under the leadership of Isăilă to sit in fourth place following strong performances that saw them earn 3 wins and one draw. Keizer also guided Al Jazira to three wins to remain a contender for the title and sit in second place.


In the Best Goalkeeper category, Bani Yas Fahad Al Dhanhani is joined by Jamal Abdullah from Ittihad Kalba and Ali Khasif from Al Jazira. Jamal Abdullah and Ali Khasif each managed to keep two clean sheets in December. On the other hand, Al Dhanhani kept three clean sheets in the past month.


Voting for the three categories has opened on Sunday at noon on the Arabian Gulf League website and continues for 48 hours. After which, winners will be announced through the official UAE PL social media channels and will receive their awards ahead of their respective sides’ matches in the next matchweek of the Arabian Gulf League.

feedback icon Send feedback