Thank your for helping us to Improve your experience
Ease of use
Clarity of presentation
Technical performance
Find out more on
No records
UAE Pro League
news article image

golden boot race sets off early between Laba and Pedro

Although we are only two matchweeks into ADNOC Pro League new campaign, the league's top scorer race has already commenced very early with the Al Ain's Laba Kodjo and Al Wahda's Joao Pedro having already netted three times in the first two fixtures of their teams.


The Togolese Kodjo started the season off on the right foot bagging a brace for his side in the first round against Khorfakkan before scoring his team's second goal in the next round's 2-0 victory over Emirates.


Kodjo, who has already scored 35 goals in 3 season in UAE league, hopes he can make up for the disappointment he suffered in 2019-2020 when Covid-19 pandemic outbreak deprived him of winning the award since the league competition was called off as part of the pandemic's ramifications.


On the other hand, having scored three goals as well, the Brazilian Joao Pedro led his team to a win over Al Orooba and a draw with his former club Baniyas, where he shone last season netting 18 goals that gifted him the Golden Ball award for the best foreign player. Pedro has scored 33 goals in the Emirati competition so far with three different teams.


The race for the coveted golden boot award won't definitely be down to these two players only, as ADNOC Pro League teams' squads are full of players who are expected to make an impact in the upcoming rounds including Ali Mabkhout who finished last year's campaign on top of the goal-scorers' list.


There are also three players who managed to score a double in the first two matchweeks and they are: Al Nasr's Sebastian Taglibue, Ajman's Mohamed Firas, and Al Wahda's Omar Khribin.


Previous seasons' golden boot winners:

2008-2009: Al Wahda's Fernando Baiano (24 goals).

2009-2010: Al Ain's Jose Sand (24 goals).

2010-2011: Baniyas' Andre Sangahour (18 goals).

2011-2012: Al Ain's Asamoah Gyan (21 goals).

2012-2013: Al Ain's Asamoah Gyan (31 goals).

2013-2014: Al Ain's Asamoah Gyan (29 goals).

2015-2016: Al Wahda's Sebastian Tagliabue (25 goals).

2016-2017: Al Jazira's Ali Mabkhout (33 goals).

2017-2018: Al Ain's Marcus Berg (25 goals).

2018-2019: Al Wahda's Sebastian Tagliabue (26 goals).

feedback icon Send feedback