Thank your for helping us to Improve your experience
Ease of use
Clarity of presentation
Technical performance
Find out more on
No records
UAE Pro League
news article image

In Numbers: Arabian Gulf Super Cup history

The 13th edition of the Arabian Gulf Super Cup is scheduled to be held on, Friday January 22nd, at Al Maktoum Stadium under the "Our Winter is Super" slogan, in support of the “World’s Coolest Winter” initiative launched by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President, Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai, which aims to promote UAE’s strategy for domestic tourism and its unified tourism identity.


Below, you can find interesting statistics and information related to the previous 12 editions, including the number of goals and red cards.


■ Al Ain and Shabab Al Ahli met in the 2014 Arabian Gulf Super Cup at Mohammed Bin Zayed Stadium in a repeat of their meeting in the 2013 edition at the same stadium, marking the first repeat of a final in the competition’s history. Shabab Al Ahli won the 2013 edition on penalties, before winning the 2014 title, thanks to Salmeen Khamis goal.


■ Al Ain are the team with the most defeats in the Arabian Gulf Super Cup, as they lost the title three times in 2013, 2014 and 2018.


■ The Arabian Gulf Super is usually contested by the league and cup champions. Each of them managed to win 5 titles, as the Arabian Gulf League champions won the Super Cup title in 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2019. Meanwhile, the UAE President's Cup winners achieved the Super Cup title in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2013 and 2017.


■ In 2011 and 2018, the league and cup champions were the same team, as Al Jazira and Al Ain won the domestic double in 2011 and 2018, respectively. Ironically, they both faced Al Wahda in the Super Cup final and Al Wahda emerged winners on penalties in both times.


■ Two teams managed to reach the super cup twice in a row, before repeating the achievement few years later.

Shabab Al Ahli: 2008 and 2009, then 2013 and 2014

Al Jazira: 2011 and 2012, then 2016 and 2017


Firsts in the professional era:


■ The first UAE national to net a goal in the Arabian Gulf Super Cup is Shabab Al Ahli’s Mohammed Sarour, who scored against Al Ain in 2009.


■ The first player to net a brace in the Arabian Gulf Super Cup is Al Ain’s Brazilian player Emerson who scored against Shabab Al Ahli in 2009.


■ The first Arab player to score in the Super Cup is Shabab Al Ahli’s Egyptian midfielder Hosny Abd Rabo who scored against Al Ain in 2009.


■ Al Ain and Al Jazira clash in 2012 is the first Arabian Gulf Super Cup to end goalless.


■ Forwards of both teams failed to score in three Arabian Gulf Super Cup finals, namely:

Sharjah and Shabab Al Ahli in 2019 - Al Ain and Shabab Al Ahli in 2013 - Al Ain and Al Jazira in 2012.


Red cards:


■ The first player to receive a red card in the Super Cup in the professional era was Shabab Al Ahli’s Mohammed Qassim who sent off in his side’s clash with Al Ain in 2009.


■ The first team to receive two red cards in the Arabian Gulf Super Cup final was Al Wahda against Emirates Club in 2010 (Ismail Matar and Mohamed Al Shehhi)


Host city:


■ Dubai hosted the Arabian Gulf Super Cup 6 times in the professional era: 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2019 and 2021.

feedback icon Send feedback